ALI Elects 45 New Members

ALI Elects 45 New Members

The American Law Institute has elected 45 new members who will bring their expertise in several areas of law to ALI’s work of clarifying the law through Restatements, Principles and the Model Penal Codes.

"One of the most exciting aspects of being President of the ALI is meeting some of today's most important and inspiring legal minds as they are elected into The American Law Institute. I look forward to having the opportunity to work alongside these new members in continuing the ALI's efforts in clarifying the law," said ALI President Roberta Cooper Ramo. 

Visit the Newly Elected Members page to view biographical sketches of the new members.


R. David Proctor, Birmingham – Judge, U.S. District Court, Northern District of Alabama


Michael W. Fitzgerald, Los Angeles – Judge, U.S. District Court, Central District
Robert L. Rabin, Sanford – Professor, Stanford Law School


Doneene Keemer Damon, Wilmington – Partner, Richards, Layton & Finger PA
Anne C. Foster, Wilmington – Partner, Richards, Layton & Finger PA
Pamela S. Tikellis, Wilmington – Partner, Chimicles & Tikellis LLP

District of Columbia

Naomi R. Cahn – Professor, George Washington University School of Law
Anuj C. Desai – Judge, Administrative Review Board, U.S. Dept. of Labor [effective January 2016] (Currently on leave – University of Wisconsin Law School in Madison)
Brian J. Egan – Legal Adviser, U.S. Department of State
Deepak Gupta – Principal, Gupta Wessler PLLC
Ellen Segal Huvelle – Judge, U.S. District Court for the District of Columbia


Chris W. Altenbernd, Tampa – Partner, Carlton Fields P.A.
Stacy D. Blank, Tampa – Partner, Holland & Knight LLP
Jonathan Gerber, West Palm Beach – Judge, Florida Fourth District Court of Appeal
Lauri Waldman Ross, Miami – Partner, Ross & Girten


Merritt Ellen McAlister, Atlanta – Partner, King & Spalding LLP
Usha R. Rodrigues, Athens – Professor, University of Georgia School of Law


Susan Anne Bandes, Chicago – Professor, DePaul University College of Law
John G. Levi, Chicago – Partner, Sidley Austin LLP
Nancy S. Marder, Chicago – Professor, IIT Chicago-Kent College of Law


William W. Barrett, Greenwood – Partner, Williams Barrett & Wilkowski, LLP


Ann L. Estin, Iowa City – Professor, University of Iowa College of Law


Kenneth W. Mack, Cambridge – Professor, Harvard Law School
William B. Rubenstein, Cambridge – Professor, Harvard Law School


Sherman J. Clark, Ann Arbor – Professor, University of Michigan Law School


Fionnuala Ni Aoláin, Minneapolis – Professor, University of Minnesota Law School
Sharon K. Sandeen, St. Paul – Professor, Mitchell Hamline School of Law


Elissa F. Cadish, Las Vegas – Judge, Clark County District Court

New Jersey

Katherine L. Adams, Morris Plains – Senior VP & GC, Honeywell
Virginia A. Long, Lawrenceville – Partner, Fox Rothschild LLP
Michael H. Ullmann, New Brunswick – Executive VP & GC, Johnson & Johnson

New York

Sabine Chalmers, New York – Chief Legal & Corporate Affairs Officer and Secretary to Board of Directors, Anheuser-Busch InBev
Susan B. Lindenauer, New York – Partner, Law Office of Susan B. Lindenauer
Laureen E. Seeger, New York – Executive VP & GC, American Express Company
Kathleen M. Sullivan, New York – Partner, Quinn Emanuel Urquhart & Sullivan, LLP

North Carolina

David G. Leitch, Charlotte – Global General Counsel, Bank of America
Margaret H. Lemos, Durham – Professor, Duke Law School

North Dakota

James S. Hill, Mandan – Judge, North Dakota District Court, South Central District
Sandra L. Tabor, Bismarck – GC & Director of Government Affairs, KLJ Solutions Holding Company
Joseph A. Wetch, Jr., Fargo – Partner, Serkland Law Firm


Daniel P. Tokaji, Columbus – Professor, Ohio State University, Moritz College of Law


Peter E. Leckman, Philadelphia – Partner, Langer, Grogan & Diver, P.C.


Sean B. Seymore, Nashville – Professor, Vanderbilt University Law School


Neal S. Berinhout, Dallas – VP & Assoc GC, Litigation, AT&T Services, Inc.


Kim Forde-Mazrui, Charlottesville – Professor, University of Virginia School of Law