ALI Elects 61 New Members

ALI Elects 61 New Members

The American Law Institute announced the election of 61 members. The new members, which include prominent judges, lawyers, and law professors, will bring a wide range of perspectives and areas of expertise to ALI’s work of clarifying the law through Restatements, Principles, Model Penal Codes, and Uniform Codes.

ALI President Roberta Cooper Ramo said, “It is an honor to welcome these accomplished individuals to our esteemed membership. As the ALI continues to make its mark in legal reform, I look forward to witnessing the great contributions our new members will bring to our projects.”

Election of these new members raises ALI’s total number of elected members to 2789.* Visit the Newly Elected Member page to view biographical sketches of the new members.

Joel W. Nomkin, Phoenix – Partner, Perkins Coie LLP

Daniel Jay Bussel, Los Angeles – Partner, Klee Tuchin Bogdanoff & Stern
Donald J. Kochan, Orange – Professor, Chapman University, Dale E. Fowler School of Law
Barry S. Levin, San Francisco – Partner, Orrick, Herrington & Sutcliffe LLP
Miguel Marquez, San Jose – Judge, California Court of Appeal, 6th District
Kimberly J. Mueller, Sacramento – Judge, U.S. District Court, Eastern District of California
Brian Nelson, Santa Monica – General Counsel, Los Angeles 2024 Exploratory Committee
Ellen A. Pansky, South Pasadena – Partner, Pansky Markle Ham LLP
Rex Robert Perschbacher, Davis – Professor, University of California, Davis School of Law
Dan Robbins, Calabasas – Senior VP, Associate GC, Motion Picture Association of America, Inc.
Steven E. Zipperstein, Santa Barbara – Chief Legal Officer, BlackBerry Ltd.

District of Columbia
Diane E. Ambler – Partner, K&L Gates LLP
Beth Heifetz – Partner, Jones Day
Sally Katzen – Senior Adviser, Podesta Group
Jeffrey H. Knox – Partner, Simpson Thacher
Amit P. Mehta – Judge, U.S. District Court for District of Columbia
Cleta Mitchell – Partner, Foley & Lardner LLP
Randolph D. Moss – Judge, U.S. District Court for the District of Columbia
Mythili Raman – Partner, Covington Burling
Melanie Sloan – General Counsel, Triumph Strategy
Allison Zieve – Director, Public Citizen Litigation Group

David Hricik, Macon – Professor, Mercer University, Walter F. George School of Law

LaShonda Hunt, Chicago – Chief Legal Counsel, Illinois Department of Corrections
Kurt T. Lash, Champaign – Professor, University of Illinois College of Law
Katherine Minarik, Chicago – Partner, Bartlit Beck Herman Palenchar & Scott LLP
Natasha Nye, Barrington – Partner, Peters & Nye LLP

Carol A. Beier, Topeka – Justice, Kansas Supreme Court
Holly A. Dyer, Wichita – Partner, Foulston Siefkin

Stephen A. Higginson, New Orleans – Judge, U.S. Court of Appeals, Fifth Circuit

Mark Schneider, Upper Marlboro – General Counsel, International Association of Machinists and Aerospace Workers

Mary Beckman, Boston – Chief, Non-Profit Organizations Division, Massachusetts Attorney General's Office
Janet L. Sanders, Boston – Judge, Massachusetts Superior Court

Kristi Bowman, East Lansing – Professor, Michigan State University College of Law
Steven R. Ratner, Ann Arbor – Professor, University of Michigan Law School

Karin Nelsen, Wayzata – VP & GC, Cargill, Inc.

Edward J. Currie, Jr., Jackson – Partner, Currie Johnson Griffin & Myers, PA
Joy Lambert Phillips, Gulfport – General Counsel, Hancock Holding Company

William R. Bay, St. Louis – Partner, Thompson Coburn, LLP

New Jersey
Alice Ristroph, Newark – Professor, Seton Hall University School of Law

New Mexico
Sarah M. Singleton, Santa Fe – Judge, First Judicial District Court of New Mexico

New York
George S. Canellos, New York – Partner, Milbank, Tweed, Hadley & McCloy LLP
George T. Conway, III, New York – Partner, Wachtell, Lipton, Rosen & Katz
Stephen M. Cutler, New York – Vice Chairman, JP Morgan Chase & Co.
Denis J. McInerney, New York – Partner, Davis Polk
Kathryn S. Reimann, New York – Managing Director & Chief Compliance Officer, Global Consumer, Citigroup Inc.
Miles N. Ruthberg, New York – Partner, Latham & Watkins LLP
Christopher A. Seeger, New York – Partner, Seeger Weiss, LLP
Bruce E. Yannett, New York – Partner, Debevoise & Plimpton LLP

North Carolina
Catharine Biggs Arrowood, Raleigh – Partner, Parker Poe Adams & Bernstein LLP
Wanda G. Bryant, Raleigh – Judge, North Carolina Court of Appeals
Robert Holt Edmunds, Jr., Raleigh – Justice, Supreme Court of North Carolina
Dana Ann Remus, Chapel Hill – Professor, University of North Carolina School of Law

Carl S. Bjerre, Eugene – Professor, University of Oregon School of Law

Michael J. Madison, Pittsburgh – Professor, University of Pittsburgh School of Law

Warren T. Burns, Dallas – Partner, Burns Charest LLP
Barbara J. Evans, Houston – Professor, University of Houston Law Center
Tonya Parker, Dallas – Judge, 116th Civil District Court
Kirk Preston Watson, Austin – Senator, Texas State Legislature

Paul G. Cassell, Salt Lake City – Professor, University of Utah, S.J. Quinney School of Law

Margaret Chon, Seattle – Professor, Seattle University School of Law

West Virginia
Vincent P. Cardi, Morgantown – Professor, West Virginia University College of Law

*The Institute’s elected membership of lawyers, judges, and law professors is limited to 3,000. The total membership of more than 4,600 includes ex officio members, honorary members, and life members (those elected members who have attained more than 25 years).