The American Law Institute Elects 35 New Members

The American Law Institute Elects 35 New Members

The American Law Institute has elected 35 new members who will bring their expertise in several areas of law to ALI’s work of clarifying the law through Restatements, Principles, and the Model Codes.

“The American Law Institute has a wonderful history, and an exciting and important future,” said ALI President David F. Levi. “I am grateful to have these outstanding practitioners, judges, and academics join the ALI and add their wisdom and talents to our Restatements, Principles of the Law, Model Penal Code, and other projects.”

Visit the Newly Elected Members page to view biographical sketches of the new members.

Gregory P. Butrus, Birmingham – Partner, Balch & Bingham LLP

Keith A. Swisher, Tucson – Professor, University of Arizona, James E. Rogers College of Law

Amy Bach, San Francisco – Executive Director, United Policyholders
Theodore J. Boutrous, Jr., Los Angeles – Partner, Gibson, Dunn & Crutcher LLP
Brian M. Hoffstadt, Los Angeles – Associate Justice, California Court of Appeal, Second District
Steven L. Mayer, San Francisco – Senior Counsel, Arnold & Porter Kaye Scholer LLP
Amanda L. Tyler, Berkeley – Professor, University of California, Berkeley School of Law

District of Columbia
Paul D. Clement, Washington – Partner, Kirkland & Ellis LLP
James J. Sandman, Washington – President, Legal Services Corporation

Carlos Eduardo Mendoza, Orlando – Judge, U.S. District Court, Middle District of Florida
Erin Ann O'Hara O'Connor, Tallahassee – Dean, Florida State University College of Law
Morris Silberman, Tampa – Judge, Florida Second District Court of Appeal
Francisco Valdes, Miami – Professor, University of Miami School of Law

Timothy D. Lytton, Atlanta – Assoc. Dean, Research & Faculty Development, Georgia State University College of Law

Maxine A. Burkett, Honolulu – Professor, University of Hawaii at Manoa, William S. Richardson School of Law

Amy J. St. Eve, Chicago – Judge, U.S. Court of Appeals, Seventh Circuit

Brian A. Jackson, Baton Rouge – Judge, U.S. District Court, Middle District of Louisiana

Frank A. Pasquale, Baltimore – Professor, University of Maryland, Francis King Carey School of Law

John F. Manning, Cambridge – Dean, Harvard Law School
Sudha Narayana Setty, Springfield – Dean, Western New England University School of Law 

Peter A. Joy, St. Louis – Professor, Washington University School of Law

David J. Kessler, New York – Partner, Norton Rose Fulbright US LLP
Lawrence J. Vilardo, Buffalo – Judge, U.S. District Court, Western District of New York

North Carolina
Kerry Abrams, Durham – Dean, Duke University School of Law
Christopher H. Schroeder, Durham – Professor, Duke University School of Law
Neil S. Siegel, Durham – Professor, Duke University School of Law

Jonathan H. Adler, Cleveland – Professor, Case Western Reserve University School of Law
Benita Y. Pearson, Youngstown – Judge, U.S. District Court, Northern District of Ohio

Thomas A. Balmer, Salem – Chief Justice, Supreme Court of Oregon 

Glynn S. Lunney, Jr., Fort Worth – Professor, Texas A&M University School of Law
Marjorie A. Meyers, Houston – Federal Public Defender, Southern District of Texas
D. Theodore Rave, Houston – Associate Professor, University of Houston Law Center

Austin James Riter, Salt Lake City – Litigation Shareholder, Parr Brown Gee & Loveless

Mario Barnes, Seattle – Dean, University of Washington School of Law 

Beth J. Kushner, Milwaukee – Partner, von Briesen & Roper, S.C.