The American Law Institute Elects Six Council Members

The American Law Institute Elects Six Council Members

PHILADELPHIA – At today's opening session of the Annual Meeting, The American Law Institute’s membership elected six new members to its Council, which determines projects and activities to be undertaken by the ALI and approves the work as representing the position of the Institute.

The new Council members are Stephanos Bibas of the U.S. Court of Appeals, Third Circuit, Bridget M. McCormack of the American Arbitration Association-International Centre for Dispute Resolution, Darrell A. H. Miller of Duke University School of Law, Randolph D. Moss of the U.S. District Court, District of Columbia, Teresa Wynn Roseborough of Home Depot, and Sarah Hawkins Warren of the Georgia Supreme Court.

Short biographies of ALI’s new Council members can be found below. Complete biographies are available here.

Stephanos Bibas is a judge on the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Third Circuit. Bibas was previously a professor of law and criminology at the University of Pennsylvania Law School. As director of the Penn Law Supreme Court Clinic, he argued six cases before the Supreme Court of the United States and filed briefs in dozens of others. He graduated summa cum laude and Phi Beta Kappa from Columbia University in 1989 with a B.A. in political theory and from Oxford University in 1991 with a B.A. in jurisprudence. He then earned his J.D. from Yale Law School in 1994.

Bridget Mary McCormack is President and CEO of the American Arbitration Association-International Centre for Dispute Resolution. She is also a Strategic Advisor to the Future of the Profession Initiative at the University of Pennsylvania Carey Law School. Until the end of 2022, McCormack was chief justice of the Michigan Supreme Court, a position her peers selected her for in January 2019 after she served for six years as a justice. While on the court, she championed innovation and the use of technology to improve access to justice.

Darrell A. H. Miller is the Melvin G. Shimm Professor of Law at Duke Law School. He writes and teaches in the areas of civil rights, constitutional law, civil procedure, state and local government law, and legal history. His scholarship has been published in leading law reviews such as the Yale Law Journal, the University of Chicago Law Review, and the Columbia Law Review, and has been cited by numerous courts, including the Supreme Court of the United States. He is a graduate of Harvard Law School and Oxford University, and a former clerk to the Honorable R. Guy Cole, Jr. of the United States Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit.

Randolph D. Moss has served on the U.S. District Court for the District of Columbia since 2014. Moss received an A.B., summa cum laude, from Hamilton College in 1983, and a J.D. from Yale Law School in 1986. He served as a member of the Criminal Law Committee of the Judicial Conference from 2017 to 2023 and as chair of the Committee from 2020 to 2023. He currently serves as a member of the Defender Services Committee of the Judicial Conference and as a liaison representative to the Administrative Conference of the United States.

Teresa Wynn Roseborough is responsible for The Home Depot’s legal functions, government relations and external communications. In addition, as corporate secretary, she serves as a liaison between the board of directors and the company and is responsible for all corporate governance matters. Roseborough and the legal team are responsible for securities, litigation, employment, mergers and acquisitions, real estate, store operations, risk management and intellectual property. She also leads the government relations team as they address legislative issues that impact the business environment, the retail industry and Home Depot associates. She also oversees Home Depot’s external communications team, including all corporate, consumer and nonprofit communication functions.

Sarah Hawkins Warren was appointed to the Supreme Court of Georgia by Governor Nathan Deal and was sworn in on September 17, 2018. She was re-elected statewide for a six-year term in 2020. Warren previously served as solicitor general for the State of Georgia under Attorney General Chris Carr. She currently serves on the Duke Law School Board of Visitors, the Berry College Board of Trustees, and the Advisory Board for the Atlanta Lawyers Chapter of the Federalist Society.

Additionally, at the Annual Meeting, Scott Bales, Evan R. Chesler, Allison H. Eid, Daniel C. Girard, Thomas M. Hardiman, Teresa Wilton Harmon, Pamela S. Karlan, Lance Liebman, Raymond J. Lohier Jr., and Seth P. Waxman were reelected for another Council term.

About The American Law Institute

The American Law Institute is the leading independent organization in the United States producing scholarly work to clarify, modernize, and improve the law. The ALI drafts, discusses, revises, and publishes Restatements of the Law, Model Codes, and Principles of Law that are enormously influential in the courts and legislatures, as well as in legal scholarship and education.

By participating in the Institute’s work, its distinguished members have the opportunity to influence the development of the law in both existing and emerging areas, to work with other eminent lawyers, judges, and academics, to give back to a profession to which they are deeply dedicated, and to contribute to the public good.

For more information about The American Law Institute, visit

Featured Members