Commission to Oversee Creation of Justice Ruth Bader Ginsburg Statue

New York Governor Andrew M. Cuomo has appointed 23 members to a new commission that will oversee the creation of a statue honoring the late Justice Ruth Bader Ginsburg. The commission includes members of Justice Ginsburg's family, close friends, esteemed colleagues, and other leaders. The commission will provide recommendations to the Governor regarding the artist, design, location and installation of the memorial statue.   

“Justice Ginsburg will forever stand as a singular figure in history, unmatched in her pursuit of justice and equality under the law for all Americans. Only the second woman to serve on the Supreme Court, Justice Ginsburg was a tireless champion for women's rights and throughout her lifetime brilliantly navigated a complex landscape of gender-based discrimination to ultimately ascend to the highest court in the land. She leveraged that position to fiercely advocate for equal rights and ensure those who followed in her footsteps would face fewer obstacles along the way," Governor Cuomo said. 

The commission includes the following ALI members:  

  • Jane C. Ginsburg, Columbia Law School 
  • Fatima Goss Graves, National Women's Law Center 
  • Trevor W. Morrison, NYU School of Law 
  • William D. Savitt, Wachtell, Lipton, Rosen & Katz 
  • Nina Totenberg, Legal Affairs Correspondent at NPR 
  • Janet DiFiore, Chief Judge of the Court of Appeals and the State of New York 
  • Sonia Sotomayor, Associate Justice of the Supreme Court of the United States 

Learn more here.  

Featured Members