ALI Elects 37 New Members

ALI Elects 37 New Members

The American Law Institute has elected 37 new members who will bring their expertise in several areas of law to ALI’s work of clarifying the law through Restatements, Principles and the Model Penal Codes.

“This latest group of new members exemplifies the diversity in perspective and experience essential to the work of The American Law Institute,” said ALI President David F. Levi. “We always hope to work with thoughtful and wise people who care about the things that we do. This is another great opportunity to do just that.”

Election of these new members raises ALI's total number of elected members to 2,884.* Visit the Newly Elected Members page to view biographical sketches of the new members.

Diane M. Johnsen, Phoenix – Judge, Arizona Court of Appeals, Division One

Alejandro E. Camacho, Irvine – Professor, University of California, Irvine School of Law
Anupam Chander, Davis – Professor, University of California, Davis School of Law
Jordan Elias, San Francisco – Senior Counsel, Girard Gibbs LLP
Saira Mohamed, Berkeley – Professor, University of California, Berkeley School of Law
Daria Roithmayr, Los Angeles – Professor, University of Southern California Law School

David Skaggs, Denver – Senior Adviser, Dentons US LLP

District of Columbia
Reeve Tyler Bull, Washington – Research Chief, Administrative Conference of the United States
Harold H. Kim, Washington – Executive Vice President, U.S. Chamber of Commerce
John G. Malcolm, Washington – Vice President, Institute for Constitutional Government, The Heritage Foundation
Martin Michaelson, Washington – Partner, Hogan Lovells US LLP
Eloise Pasachoff, Washington – Professor, Georgetown University Law Center

Elizabeth A. Rowe, Gainesville – Professor, University of Florida Levin College of Law

Sharon V. Lovejoy, Honolulu – Partner, Starn O'Toole Marcus & Fisher

Justin Driver, Chicago – Professor, University of Chicago Law School

Renee McDonald Hutchins, Baltimore – Professor, University of Maryland, Francis King Carey School of Law
Robb Jones, Bethesda – Senior Vice President & General Counsel for Claims Management, United Educators

Aloke S. Chakravarty, Boston – Assistant U.S. Attorney, U.S. Department of Justice
Judith C. Cutler, Boston – Chief Justice, Land Court Department of the Trial Court
Dean M. Hashimoto, Newton Center – Professor, Boston College Law School

Yvette Joy Liebesman, St. Louis – Professor, St. Louis University School of Law
Elizabeth Sternhell-Blackwell, St. Louis – Partner, Thompson Coburn, LLP

New York
Ricardo Anzaldua, New York – Special Legal Advisor, MetLife, Inc.
Paul G. Gardephe, New York – Judge, U.S. District Court, Southern District of New York
Danielle C. Gray, New York – Partner, O'Melveny & Myers LLP
Alexandra A.E. Shapiro, New York – Partner, Shapiro Arato LLP

North Carolina
Enrique Armijo, Greensboro – Professor, Elon University School of Law

North Dakota
Julia L. Ernst, Grand Forks – Professor, University of North Dakota School of Law
Michael S. McGinniss, Grand Forks – Professor, University of North Dakota School of Law

Frank P. Cervone, Philadelphia – Executive Director, Support Center for Child Advocates
Deborah Gordon Klehr, Philadelphia – Executive Director, Education Law Center
Shanin Specter, Philadelphia – Partner, Kline & Specter

Rhode Island
Christopher S. Gontarz, Newport – Partner, Lynch & Pine

South Carolina
Wadie Edward Said, Columbia – Professor, University of South Carolina School of Law

Thomas C. Wright, Houston – Partner, Wright and Close LLP

Marilyn S. Skoglund, Montpelier – Associate Justice, Supreme Court of Vermont

Joseph T. Waldo, Norfolk – President, Waldo & Lyle, PC

* The Institute's elected membership of lawyers, judges, and law professors is limited to 3,000. The total membership of more than 4,600 includes ex officio members, honorary members, and life members (those elected members who have attained more than 25 years).