ALI Elects 68 New Members

ALI Elects 68 New Members

The American Law Institute has elected 68 new members who will bring their expertise to ALI’s work of clarifying the law through Restatements, Principles, and Model Codes.

“Our membership is made up of an engaged group of distinguished and thoughtful volunteers,” said ALI President David F. Levi. “I am very pleased that this group of new members will bring diverse experience and views to the Institute. The contributions of these highly accomplished academics, judges and legal professionals will add great value to our projects.”

Visit the Newly Elected Members Page to view biographical sketches of the new members.

Barbara J. Dawson, Phoenix – Partner, Snell & Wilmer L.L.P.

Consuelo M. Callahan, Sacramento – Judge, U.S. Court of Appeals, Ninth Circuit
Kelly Dermody, San Francisco – Managing Partner, Lieff, Cabraser, Heimann & Bernstein
Máximo Langer, Los Angeles – Professor, University of California, Los Angeles School of Law
John B. Owens, San Diego – Judge, U.S. Court of Appeals, Ninth Circuit
Lisa R. Pruitt, Davis – Professor, University of California, Davis School of Law
Dena Sharp, San Francisco – Partner, Girard Sharp LLP
Alison M. Tucher, San Francisco – Associate Justice, California Court of Appeal, First Appellate District

District of Columbia
Christopher Edward Appel – Of Counsel, Shook, Hardy & Bacon LLP
John Bies – Chief Counsel, American Oversight
Alice S. Fisher – Partner, Latham & Watkins LLP
Douglas Earl McLaren – Solo Practitioner, Law Offices of Douglas Earl McLaren
Roy W. McLeese III – Associate Judge, District of Columbia Court of Appeals
Erin E. Murphy – Partner, Kirkland & Ellis LLP
Andre E. Owens – Partner, WilmerHale

John Elliott Leighton, Miami – Managing Partner, Leighton Law, P.A.
Kevin Michael McLaughlin, Tampa – Partner, Wagner McLaughlin

Nikola R. Djuric, Atlanta – Shareholder, The Bowden Spratt Law Firm, P.C.
Nekia Hackworth Jones, Atlanta – Partner, Nelson Mullins Riley & Scarborough, LLP

Linda T. Coberly, Chicago – Managing Partner, Winston & Strawn LLP
Susan C. Levy, Chicago – Executive Vice President and General Counsel, Northern Trust
Matthew Sag, Chicago – Professor, Loyola University School of Law

Amy Coney Barrett, South Bend – Judge, U.S. Court of Appeals, Seventh Circuit
Leandra Lederman, Bloomington – Professor, Indiana University Mauer School of Law

Anthony James Gaughan, Des Moines – Professor, Drake University Law School

Michael A. Brown, Baltimore – Partner, Nelson Mullins Riley & Scarborough, LLP

Felicia H. Ellsworth, Boston – Partner, WilmerHale

Richard A. Bierschbach, Detroit – Dean, Wayne State University Law School

Allan H. Erbsen, Minneapolis – Professor, University of Minnesota Law School

Amy Poehling Eddy, Kalispell – Judge, Montana Eleventh Judicial District Court
Gregory G. Pinski, Great Falls – Judge, State of Montana, Eighth Judicial District Court

Jennifer Dorsey, Las Vegas – Judge, U.S. District Court, District of Nevada
Elizabeth Goff Gonzalez, Las Vegas – Judge, Eighth Judicial District Court, Clark County
Stacey A. Tovino, Las Vegas – Professor, University of Nevada, Boyd School of Law

New Hampshire
Joseph N. Laplante, Concord – Judge, U.S. District Court, District of New Hampshire

New Jersey
Katie R. Eyer, Camden – Professor, Rutgers Law School
David N. Kragseth, Princeton – Sr. Contract Reinsurance Wording Expert, Munich Reinsurance America Inc.
Rick Swedloff, Camden – Professor, Rutgers Law School
Karol Corbin Walker, Newark – Partner, LeClair Ryan
Jennifer Zachary, Kenilworth – Executive Vice President and General Counsel, Merck & Company, Inc.

New York
Penelope L. Christophorou, New York – Counsel, Cleary Gottlieb Steen & Hamilton LLP
Jayne Conroy, New York – Shareholder, Simmons Hanly Conroy
Sharon Stern Gerstman, Buffalo – Counsel, Magavern Magavern Grimm LLP
Deirdre N. Hykal, New York – Managing Director and General Counsel, TIAA
Jodie Adams Kirshner, New York – Research Professor, New York University, Marron Institute on Urban Affairs
Nina A. Kohn, Syracuse – Professor, Syracuse University College of Law
Douglas J. Pepe, New York – Partner, Joseph Hage Aaronson LLC
Phillip T. Rollock, New York – Executive Vice President and Chief Legal Officer, TIAA
Colleen F. Shanahan, New York – Associate Clinical Professor, Columbia Law School

Stephanos Bibas, Philadelphia – Judge, U.S. Court of Appeals, Third Circuit
J. Gordon Cooney, Jr., Philadelphia – Partner, Morgan, Lewis & Bockius LLP
Helen P. Pudlin, Bryn Mawr – Retired Exec. Vice President and General Counsel, PNC Financial Services Group, Inc.

Sarah Keeton Campbell, Nashville – Special Assistant to the Solicitor General and the Attorney General, Tennessee Office of the Attorney General

Karen C. Burgess, Austin – Principal, Burgess Law
Cisselon Nichols Hurd, Houston – Senior Litigation Counsel, Shell Oil Company
Bill Jones, Dallas – Partner, Barnes & Thornburg LLP
Demetrius McDaniel, Austin – Shareholder, Greenberg Traurig LLP
Alan Scott Rau, Austin – Professor, University of Texas School of Law

Paige Petersen, Salt Lake City – Justice, Utah Supreme Court

Sharon Reich Paulsen, Burlington – Vice President for Legal Affairs, General Counsel and Senior Advisor to President, University of Vermont

Elbert Lin, Richmond – Partner, Hunton Andrews Kurth LLP
Vicki O. Tucker, Richmond – Counsel, Hunton Andrews Kurth LLP

Gregory R. Fox, Seattle – Shareholder, Lane Powell PC

Tonya L. Brito, Madison – Professor, University of Wisconsin Law School

Erik Knutsen, Kingston – Professor, Queen's University School of Law

John Linarelli, Durham – Professor, University of Durham Law School
Lord Thomas of Cwmgiedd, London – Judge, Essex Court Chambers

Karl-Nikolaus Peifer, Cologne – Prof. Dr., University of Cologne, Institute for Media and Communications Law