The American Law Institute Elects 27 New Members

The  American  Law  Institute  (ALI)  announced  today  the  names  of  27  newly  elected members, raising its total membership to 4,338 (representing elected, life, honorary, and ex officio members).

“Since its founding by such legends as former President William Howard Taft, former Secretary of State Elihu Root, and Judges Benjamin N. Cardozo and Learned Hand, the Institute has elected the leading legal scholars of the bench, the bar, and the academy to fulfill its mission of clarifying and improving the law,” said ALI President Roberta Cooper Ramo. “I am delighted to welcome this distinguished group into The American Law Institute, and am certain that they will advance our law-reform work and find their participation rewarding on all levels.”

Newly elected members are:

Larry L. Boschee, Partner, Pearce & Durick, Bismarck, ND

Steven A. Brick, Judge, Alameda County Superior Court, Oakland, CA

Jaclyn F. Cherry, Professor, University of South Carolina School of Law, Columbia, SC

James J. Edelman, Justice, Supreme Court of Western Australia, Perth, Australia

Maxine Eichner, Professor, University of North Carolina School of Law, Chapel Hill, NC

Mary D. Fan, Professor, University of Washington School of Law, Seattle, WA

Mark R. Filip, Partner, Kirkland & Ellis LLP, Chicago, IL

Shubha Ghosh, Professor, University of Wisconsin Law School, Madison, WI

Philip S. Goldberg, Partner, Shook Hardy & Bacon, L.L.P., Washington, DC

Lisa Kern Griffin, Professor, Duke University School of Law, Durham, NC

Simona Grossi, Professor, Loyola Law School, Los Angeles, CA

Jennifer Kirby, Partner, Kirby Law Firm, Paris, France

Debra H. Lehrmann, Justice, Supreme Court of Texas, Austin, TX

Francine J. Lipman, Professor, Chapman University School of Law, Orange, CA

William E. Matthews, Partner, Gardere Wynne Sewell LLP, Houston, TX

Henry S. May, Partner, Vinson & Elkins LLP, Houston, TX

Catherine P. McEwen, Judge, U.S. Bankruptcy Court, Tampa, FL

Francis J. Mootz, Professor, University of Nevada, Boyd School of Law, Las Vegas, NV

Terry F. Moritz, Principal, Goldberg Kohn Ltd., Chicago, IL

Christina C. Reiss, Chief Judge, U.S. District Court, Rutland, VT

John K. Roedel, Jr., Partner, Senniger Powers LLP, St. Louis, MO

Gwendolyn J. Samora, Partner, Vinson & Elkins LLP, Houston, TX

William H. Schorling, Partner, Buchanan Ingersoll & Rooney PC, Philadelphia, PA

Ben H. Sheppard, Jr., Professor, University of Houston Law Center, Houston, TX

Lynn H. Slade, Partner, Modrall Sperling, Albuquerque, NM

Scott N. Wulfe, Partner, Vinson & Elkins LLP, Houston, TX

Tseming Yang, Of Counsel, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, Washington, DC