The American Law Institute Elects 32 New Members

The American Law Institute Elects 32 New Members

The American Law Institute has elected 32 new members who will bring their expertise to ALI’s work of clarifying the law through Restatements, Principles, and Model Codes.

“ALI’s membership is known for its judgment, collective experience, and analytic ability,” said ALI President David F. Levi. “I am pleased to welcome this extraordinary group of new members who will bring their talent, wisdom, and dedication to the important work of the Institute.”

Visit the Newly Elected Members Page to view biographical sketches of the new members.

Mary H. Murguia, Phoenix – Judge, U.S. Court of Appeals, Ninth Circuit

Janis Lynn Sammartino, San Diego – Judge, U.S. District Court, Southern District of California
Lois Weithorn, San Francisco – Professor, University of California, Hastings College of the Law

Carol M. Rose, New Haven – Retired Professor, Yale Law School

District of Columbia
E. Donald  Elliott – Co-Chair, Environmental Practice, Covington & Burling LLP
Susan R. Jones – Professor, Clinical Law & Director, Small Business Clinic, George Washington University Law School
Steven M. Marks – Chief, Digital Business & GC, Recording Industry Association of America
Kannon Kumar Shanmugam – Partner, Williams & Connolly LLP
Lucy L. Thomson – Partner, Livingston PLLC

Mary Anne Franks, Miami – Professor, University of Miami School of Law
Beverly A. Pohl, Fort Lauderdale – Partner, Nelson Mullins Riley & Scarborough, LLP

Barbara Bennett Woodhouse, Atlanta – Professor, Emory University School of Law

Emily Kadens, Chicago – Professor, Northwestern University Pritzker School of Law

Mark D. Janis, Bloomington – Professor, Indiana University Maurer School of Law
Mark McKenna, Notre Dame – Professor, Notre Dame Law School

Robert W. Pratt, Des Moines – Senior Judge, U.S. District Court, Southern District of Iowa

Brian A. Jackson, Baton Rouge - Judge, U.S. District Court, Middle District of Louisiana*

Leigh S. Goodmark, Baltimore – Professor, University of Maryland, Francis King Carey School of Law
David C. Gray, Baltimore – Professor, University of Maryland, Francis King King Carey School of Law

Theodore J. Folkman, Boston – Shareholder, Murphy & King, P.C.
Elizabeth A. Renuart, Boston – Of Counsel, National Consumer Law Center

Malini Moorthy, Minneapolis – Vice President and Chief Deputy GC, Medtronic, Inc.

New York
Anne Milgram, New York – Professor, New York University School of Law

James Christie, Philadelphia – President, Christie & Young PC
Ellen Wertheimer, Villanova – Professor, Villanova University School of Law

Puerto Rico
Andres W. Lopez, San Juan – Partner, Law Office of Andres W. Lopez P.S.C.

Darren B. Moore, Fort Worth – Partner, Bourland, Wall & Wenzel P.C.

Andrew D. Manitsky, Burlington – Partner, Lynn, Lynn, Blackman & Manitsky, P.C.

Anthony John Trenga, Alexandria – Judge, U.S. District Court, Eastern District of Virginia

Katherine C. Spelman, Redmond – In-house Counsel, Microsoft Corporation


Timothy J. McEvoy, Melbourne – Queen’s Counsel, Victorian Bar

Donal Nolan, Oxford – Professor, Worcester College, University of Oxford

Mauro Bussani, Trieste – Professor, University of Trieste

* Elected in July 2018.